Excellence in the Media Awards

The Press Club of Southeast Texas is pleased to announce the Twenty-Eighth Annual Excellence in the Media Awards competition. Each year, The Press Club receives hundreds of entries from individuals and media outlets from across the region, including print, electronic media, magazines/trade press and public relations categories.

The contest is open to members and potential members of the Press Club—full-time and part-time journalists and public relations professionals in Chambers, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Newton, Orange, Polk and Tyler counties.

DEADLINE for ALL entries is Sunday,  April 7, 2019 at 11:59 p.m.

Work published, aired or released between January 1, 2018, and December 31, 2018, is eligible for entry.

Benefits of membership include reduced contest entry fees. Individuals may check their membership status, join or update their memberships online at here on the Press Club website. Membership dues can be paid online using the PayPal link provided.

Organizations may make arrangements to pay for multiple memberships and contest entries for their employees via credit card by contacting Scott Eslinger via email. Organizations may also make arrangements to pay multiple memberships by check and can be invoiced if required.

All entries must be digital; pdf or jpg format for clippings, images. These elements will be uploaded to the BetterBNC servers and should be kept under 3 MB in size if possible (the system will handle up to a 10 MB file; keep in mind these will be viewed on a monitor so screen resolution is all that is needed). Video and audio files should be uploaded to a server (e.g., YouTube, Vimeo or similar) and you will provide judges with a link to these files.  Entries will uploaded online here after the contest is opened.

If applying for membership along with entering the contest, membership dues MUST be paid ONLINE via Paypal on the press club website though checks may be accepted but can cause delays.
If you have questions, contact us.

Download the 2019 Excellence in the Media Awards Contest call to entry. (PDF)

Winners of the contest along with the 2018 Newsmaker of the Year will be announced Friday evening, June 7, 2019 during the 28th Annual Excellence in the Media & Newsmaker of the Year Awards Banquet at the MCM Elegante’ Hotel in Beaumont.

All proceeds benefit the Lamar University Press Club Memorial Scholarship.

Meetings & Events

  • No upcoming events

Unless otherwise noted the contents of this website are © Press Club of Southeast Texas

The Press Club of Southeast Texas is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 1922, Beaumont, TX 77704-1922

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software